Will the real Pumpkin please stand up?

Pumpkin goes to daycare two days a week and the other day when I picked her up one of the teacher’s aides was changing her diaper.  I asked if she squirms around on the table when they change her.  She said no, and I commented “that’s strange – I had to move her changing pad from the top of the dresser to the floor because she moves around so much when I change her.”  The head teacher heard the conversation and said “well they all have home behavior and then there’s school behavior and often they’re different.”  Hmm… so why exactly then is she more difficult to handle with me?  Is it because she sees the daycare teachers more as authority figures because she doesn’t know them as well?   Or because she knows I love her unconditionally so it’s her chance to express herself?  Or is it because she knows we have fun together and she thinks that I’ll think it’s funny if she crawls off at lightening speed before I can put a diaper back on her?  (grrrr… it was funny the first time but not so much now) I’ll bet she doesn’t bite them either.  (They used to feel like sweet kisses to me but then she grew teeth :)).  And she probably doesn’t try to pull their hair.  Gosh, what am I doing wrong?  Well at least I know that her most amazing, loving hugs are reserved for mommy and daddy, so I guess I can live with the rest.

Leave a Reply

